Bicycle Florida

…as I camp, fish, and bicycle Florida

Bicycle Florida: Tallahasee, FL to Perry, FL

Sometimes inspiration sets in and you do something that you would never have done otherwise. I suppose somewhere in the back of mind had always been the idea to bicycle Florida. This is not the first journey that I have taken without the use of motorized vehicles, but this is the first time I have ever attempted to bicycle Florida. The trip from Tallahassee, Fl to Perry, FL took us two days.

There have been other adventurous trips in my life. I have earned the reputation of being a wanderer, but never did I think I would actually bicycle Florida. I with my husband and our son took a three-month walk from Memphis, TN to Oklahoma City, OK. I must say that the adventure was a lot of fun for us all, as well as very enlightening and faith-building. That first trip is part of what gave me the gall to bicycle, FL.

This time, our son is not with us. It is just my husband and I. Roberto was excited to bicycle Florida. I can always count on him to go on some wild adventure with me. Hey, my computer, my bicycle, and a few other things were all the equipment that I needed. Experience has taught me that God will provide along the way, rather other  people are loving or not. We sold what we could from the house and set out to bicycle Florida.

The first part of the trip took us two days. Tallahassee sits in a whole in the ground (or basin or something like that) and there were a lot of hills to go over that slowed us down a whole lot. We do not yet have any baskets or trailers for the bicycles, we have been carrying everything by strapping it all to the handlebars with bungees and cords. My bicycle was quite heavy and I had to walk up the hills. At first, it seemed that it was not going to be as easy to bicycle Florida as I thought it would be. The weather was incredibly hot. We went through a whole lot of water and had to rest frequently in the shade.

We rode until it was night and then spread the blankets out in the woods when it got dark. It was not my first time sleeping in the woods, but it was my first time sleeping in the woods without a tent. I thought the bugs would get to me and that I would be covered in mosquito bites when I woke up the next morning, but that was not the case. We packed up and continued on our journey until we made it into Perry, Fl. Finding a site to camp at night, we slept in victory, Having made it to the first stop in our attempt to bicycle Florida.

It is not easy making it up all those hills outside of Tallahassee, Fl with all this stuff on my bike and a heavy bookbag on my back, but we are determined to bicycle Florida.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

